***STARRED REVIEW review of Betwixt in Publishers Weekly***

Smith’s YA debut (following the memoir West of Then) is an intensely atmospheric, angst-ridden paranormal thriller revolving around three Portland, Ore., teenagers. During a surreal, drug-filled summer, the three must come to terms with an incredible revelation: they’re all supernatural entities known as changelings. The futures of artistic Ondine Mason, troubled Alaskan runaway Nix Saint-Michael and beautiful, ambitious Morgan D’Amici become irrevocably intertwined during a secret rave in the woods around Mt. Hood. They think they’ve come to a party, but a terrifying arcane ritual called the Ring of Fire reveals their true natures as well as their critical roles in a looming and potentially deadly other-worldy conflict. Powered by sharp characterizations and an almost dreamlike narrative, this amalgam of fantasy, horror and romance – first in a projected series – will strongly appeal to paranormal fantasy enthusiasts, particularly fans of Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight saga, which, coincidentally, also takes place in the wilds of the Northwest. Discerning readers will appreciate Smith’s subtle use of symbolism and imagery throughout.

4 Responses

  1. I grabbed Betwixt at my library, just for the fun of it. I had no idea what to expect from the book, and when I started reading it, it was so different from anything I’ve ever read. Betwixt is such a great read, and I’m so glad I got it. I can’t wait for another book!

  2. I picked up betwixt from a thrift store for $1. The reason I was drawn to it was bc the cover is my favorite color and the graphic was so appealing. Little did I know that this book was going to suck me into the world of the Fay. Needless to say I loved the book from beginning to end. I loved the relationship established between ondine and Nix and Morgana and Bleek. I didn’t see any twists and turns coming. I’ve never read a book like this. I can’t wait for the sequel. Is there anywhere I can get more info on it? A release date? A preview? Anything?

  3. I read this book years ago and had lent it to a friend before I moved. I justgot it back last weekend and reread it for the umpteenth time. PLEASE tell me there is a sequel in the works!

  4. Comment

    There are some interesting points in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them close to heart. There’s some validity however I’ll take maintain an opinion til I look into it further. Great post, thanks and we would like more! Added to my Fe…

Leave a Reply

